Century Communities

star-rating (691 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About Century Communities

Century Communities has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 3.8 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Century Communities’s 691 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

3.8 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

691 Reviews - 102 Communities

5 ★(297)

4 ★(143)

3 ★(112)

2 ★(64)

1 ★(75)

Quality 3.7

Trustworthiness 3.8

Value 3.9

Responsiveness 3.6

star-rating Still waiting for "punch list" repairs

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Robert S.
  • Monument, CO
  • October 27, 2019

It has been 4.5 months since we have closed on our home. Since our first survey, 14 of the 16 items listed on the move-in inspection and orientation report have been completed thanks to John, the on site construction supervisor. He has been excellent to work with and assumed responsibility for the defects and repairs from the previous supervisors, Brian and Scott. Also, we have been pleased with the workmanship and tradesmen who have completed the 14 items. However, two of the "bigger" items still have not been completed. For instance, over two weeks ago, the decorative tile in the master shower was repaired/replaced for the third time, which entailed the shower door being removed. We were informed that the following week, on Tuesday, October 15, someone would come back and reinstall the shower door--that has not occurred. On October 18, a call was placed to the office regarding this matter, with promises that the supervisors would be informed. As of 10/27 and after over four months, the master shower STILL CANNOT BE USED. The second issue which was also to be addressed on Tuesday, October 15 was the repairs on our damaged concrete in our driveway and garage. The cement trucks have been in our area of LOR nearly daily and it seems like the repairs could have been made during the past four months. It has, also, been frustrating when Century employees advise that work will be done on a particular time and date and NO ONE shows up after we, as homeowners, arrange to be present for these appointments. The above ratings are based on our experiences with Century thus far. ... More

star-rating LACK of RESPONSE to ISSUES!!

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Curtis H.
  • Riverdale, GA
  • October 12, 2019

I have had a problem with my grass before I moved in but was assured that it would grow! Once I closed on my home the grass still did not grow! I contacted the leasing office & was told with watering the grass would grow. Well for about a month we had monsoon rain & still no grass. I do believe that I received a bad batch of sod as SEVERAL of my neighbors moved in AFTER me & they have a great lawn. I have contacted them MULTIPLE times but my belief is that to them this is a non issue! I feel they no longer care because they already made the sale..... This is my 1st home purchase & what s/b a joyous occasion is NOT! I AM VERY UNHAPPY!!!!! ... More

star-rating Century Communities - Still waiting for exterior trim over window to be painted.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Mark G.
  • Arvada, CO
  • September 24, 2019

Still waiting for exterior trim over window to be painted. Bathroom Floor was promised to be replaced. Instead it was patched Working with corporate on a closing was terrible. As a Broker for 40 years it was stunning how inept Century Corporate could be. Fortunately, One of the sales staff was very professional ,helpful and a pleasure to work with. All worked out despite the B.S. Now that there self created obstacles are behind us, all is good ... More

star-rating Review

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Samuel G.
  • Dacono, CO
  • September 03, 2019

Not happy with the ventilation system in my living room. Design defect!!!!!!!

star-rating A good house

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Joshua B.
  • Frederick, CO
  • September 03, 2019

Check the garage make site your car fits first the stairs are a issue in most garages and the depth is different between houses in the garage

Century Communities responded:
Joshua,

Thank you for your observation.

star-rating Century Communities - The craftsmanship is very suspect.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Michael V.
  • Charlotte, NC
  • August 06, 2019

The craftsmanship is very suspect. I have a lot of concerns with the quality of the house going forward. Nothing in the house is square or level but I will say they have been responsive in fixing issues as my wife.

Century Communities responded:
Thank you Michael for your feed back. Please keep in touch with your Century team if you have anything else that comes up.

star-rating Minor issues that have become Major headaches

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • John H.
  • Ripon, CA
  • June 26, 2019

Cabinet in kitchen still crooked after multiple attempts to fix. Solar was a major pain to get working.They installed the wires backward and didn't realize it until months later. Still waiting for driveway to be fixed. No communication when it will be fixed. The irrigation system is super complicated. Most of the homes in the in the Century Community have brown lawns. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Thank you for reaching out. We understand that our field team has scheduled an appointment w/ you on Monday, 7/1, to address each of your concerns.

star-rating Delay

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Keefe ..
  • Cumming, GA
  • January 07, 2021

I was not given everything promised before and after closing. Have been in home for 4 months

star-rating Satisfied Customer - Jury Still Out

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Christopher P.
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • October 06, 2020

Prior to buying our first brand new home we have never heard of Century Communities. We did our research and did a lot of looking at their competitors. In the end we chose Century based on the price, location and what we found in our research as they seemed to be a good builder. It started off well but then became very stressful about 3 months into the building process. Let me start with the good: 1. Sales and loan team were great and had zero issues with anyone! 2. Working with the Design Center was a great experience. Lots of options to really customize your house and make it your own. Have to say though some of the options are way overpriced and I was able to install myself for a fraction of the cost. 3. Customer service representative for warranty issues has been great and very responsive to our requests. Our requests have not been major as of yet but our rep has been on the issues and has taken care of them in a timely manner, very happy with him. 4. We love the house for the most part and price was right for the area. I would say architecturally the elevations are lacking but the floor plan made up for this as it had everything we were looking for. Nice open floor plan, lots of storage, and a huge master closet. Now the bad: 1. Superintendent is worthless. Will tell you if you need anything just to contact him, well if you do ask it for something he will ignore you, say no or just forget. Not exactly sure what he does when he "walks" the houses but I can tell you I was doing his job finding all kinds of issues during all stages of the construction. I won't even get started on the mold issue we had on most of the drywall that was installed. Make sure to visit during construction and all your options and additions are being done correctly! 2. During the process and the issues we had we just felt like a number to Century and that they just wanted us to go away. No apologizes for anyone on the issues, some of which were major we had during the building process. Again we just did not feel important they just wanted our money and to close on the house. 3. Lack of communication, we were told our closing date would in July. This changed to June and no one informed us until I asked if we were still on schedule for July, at this time we were informed it would be June a full month earlier than we were told. 4. Attention to detail is lacking! Some of our walkthrough issues were taken care mostly and other just patched over instead of being done correctly. Workmanship overall is not very good at all! 5. The day we received our keys we had to pick them up from the superintendent and not the sales office or anyone else from Century. Again we just felt like a number and it was no big deal because they need the house closed by the end of the fiscal year. Customer service in many areas is seriously lacking! At least attempt to make your customers feel appreciated after they just spent a lot of money on your product! 6. We had a couple of water leaks in the landscape irrigation but was told just adjust the watering clock and it will go away. Ok this is not my first house and I am handy around the house, I know when there is something wrong! I brought the issue up a couple of times with the same response. So I took it into my own hands and dug up the areas where the water was ponding.......well what did I find, two water leaks in the irrigation system! After I took pictures and put in a request the leaks were fixed within a day! Point is do not make your customers feel like they are wrong and at least look into the issue instead of giving a "solution" without investigating. 7. Make sure you know what options you added, whether structural or electrical! I cannot tell you how many times we had to remind the superintendent that things were missing or wrong! Would I recommend Century to friends or other people? Jury is still out on that one but based on what we went through and what seems like a lack of appreciation and customer service I would have to say NO at this time. I am just glad that I know what to look out for during the building process or we would not have received the keys to the house with our options we purchased. ... More

star-rating Jury is still out

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Curtis C.
  • Kerman, CA
  • September 09, 2020

Trying to resolve some quality issues. we will see if the services gets any better. as of now...not great

Century Communities responded:
Hello Curtis- thank you for sharing your experience. For follow up please go to www.centurycommunities.com at the top of the page is a tab that says homeowner. in their you can submit a warrantee claim and it will be logged in our system. ... More

star-rating Talks the talk but not-so-good walk

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • East Garrison, CA
  • July 17, 2020

The sales staff are excellent at providing information and facilitating the loan process once a home is reserved. The construction crews cut corners, used lower quality materials, and had to replace broken or incorrect parts in the house throughout the building process. The items identified during the final walk through were not all completely resolved 90 days after closing. Make sure you understand the homeowner association rules and restrictions. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We strive to be the builder of choice in the industry but can fall short. We will take this experience and use it in our training. Communication-expectations and follow through. ... More

star-rating The guys told us that everything would be fixed. And things weren’t done. We have issues with front door which I told them about it. Considering we took a little bit more than six months to get the house a lot we’ve had a lot of issues with the house .

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Francisco Y.
  • Seguin, TX
  • July 07, 2020

Make sure u go over everything. We were so excited cause this was r first house that I didn’t really check everything. So make u inside and outside of the house

Century Communities responded:
Francisco- We apploigise for the delay on getting things done. We will share this experiance with the team. We strive to get better everyday and learn what we could've done better. As for the door. Please submit a work order to www.centurycommunities.com so we can schedule that with the finish carpenter. ... More

star-rating Not what we expected

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • John B.
  • Fresno, CA
  • July 02, 2020

We bought this home because of the Floorplan and Location and the Elevations. But, did not fo research on Century it self. This a over 4k home that has the qualities of a much lower price point home..need to put in alot of upgrades to bring up to a 400k standard such as lever door handles. It really basic stuff. That they went super cheap on. Please turn on the water in hall bathroom before buying. You can hear what sounds like a jet coming from the pipes..super embarrassing when company use that bath as the whole house can hear. Also no showers after 10pm it can be heard in the Master bathroom with the door closed across the house..very poor insulation. True we bought a spec home. We just expected higher quality.......apparently higher cost doesn't always mean higher quality. ... More

star-rating Century Communities - I got several problem badly.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Duk .
  • Lacey, WA
  • June 02, 2020

I got several problem badly. Septic pump broken and flood to front yard. Water leaking from ceiling but can't find the reason.

Century Communities responded:
Duk- please fill out a warranty request at www.centurycommunities.com. We have already forwarded this to the division as soon as we received it.

star-rating Great house, poor communication

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Smyrna, TN
  • March 31, 2020

The house is great, but we do not have a key to the mailbox so no mail. Some warranty claims have been pend for several weeks. Some builders park in middle of road so difficult to drive on the only road out.

Century Communities responded:
With all this uncertanty we are all going through and trades on orders to stay home (social distancing) we are handcufed. Once all of us get the green light we can schedual you. At that time please go to www.centurycommunities.com web page and fill out a service ticket.

We will talk to the team about the parking in the middle of the street as we can see that being a problem.
... More

star-rating Nice home for the price.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Aurora, CO
  • March 17, 2020

Nice home for the price, staff is nice. Takes too long to get fixes done, once you have moved in.

Century Communities responded:
Hello- Thank you for letting us know. If you haven't please use our web-sight to submit claims. www.centurycommunities.com

star-rating Century Communities - Not Bad

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Rajesh Y.
  • Cumming, GA
  • March 12, 2020

Not Bad

Century Communities responded:
We are glad it was not bad. :)

star-rating Good experience buying, then total indifference when asked to assist with warranty

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • William B.
  • Soledad, CA
  • February 25, 2020

Good buying experience, after acquisition. They do not respond to inquiries regarding work orders pi it online. Very dissatisfied with it.

Century Communities responded:
Hector- We will look into why you're experiencing a slow response. Thank you for sharing.

star-rating Century Communities - It’s a $300,000 home.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Buford, GA
  • February 13, 2020

It’s a $300,000 home. What do you expect?

Century Communities responded:
Thank you for sharing.

star-rating Century Communities - For the most part all was good.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Gina V.
  • Parker, CO
  • January 16, 2020

For the most part all was good. Final walk through, super didn’t flush toilets, turn lights off/on, light stove/oven and I did have a few problems immediately after moving in. I have chip painting, and doors with dents, cabinets missing shelf hooks (still haven’t rec’d after asking). For the most part all good but a house that costs close to a half million dollars should really be flawless. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Gina-
thank you for your feed back. Visit our web sight at www.centurycommunities.com to fill out a work order.

star-rating Average

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Jason C.
  • Castle Rock, CO
  • January 07, 2020

The home is average quality compared to custom homes, however good quality for production homes. Because the housing market in the Denver area is outrageous, the price of the home, I feel is overpriced for the quality. After moving into the home, it took going to the Century Communities National HQ to get an issue resolved. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Jason-Thank you for sharing your thoughts. If you need to contact Century please visit our web-sight.

www.centurycommunities.com at the top of the page is a homeowner tab and fill out a service request.
... More

star-rating Century Communities - I recently purchased a home that the quality of the home makes

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Walter E.
  • McDonough, GA
  • September 10, 2019

I recently purchased a home that the quality of the home makes me wish I did not buy the home!

Century Communities responded:
Walter ,
If there is something we need to address please contact Laura Adame our National Customer Relations Liaison Laura.Adame@centurycommunities.com
so we can get someone to contact you from GA division.
... More

star-rating Laps on repair

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • McDonough, GA
  • August 26, 2019

Very laps on repair that should have e been done in there first place bad appliance's have no desire to remedy or fix

Century Communities responded:
Would like to look into your concern further, but unfortunately, the review is "anonymous." Please email Laura Adame, our national customer relations liaison @ Laura.adame@centurycommunities.com so that she can gather more information and relay to the division leadership. Thank you. ... More

star-rating Cheaply built

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Decatur, GA
  • July 09, 2019

They’re putting these things up so fast I question how well the quality will uphold overall. Only been in the house 3 months and have noticed the quality of things deteriorating. I would look elsewhere for a reputable builder. Just because they have the number one volume of homes, that doesn’t make them good. ... More

star-rating Nice home, shady service

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Lakewood, WA
  • June 27, 2019

I don't want to call people out by name, so I'll keep this general. The woman in the sales office defaulted to "no" for most requests, and then would swoop in at the 11th hour with a "yes" - almost as if trying to position herself as the hero. She caused unnecessary worry and chaos for me, and was outwardly hostile to my real estate agent. I don't trust that we always got the truth from her. Our customer relationship manager was also hostile towards my agent. She has been slow to respond to service requests, late to appointments, incredibly rude at times, and then contacted me on multiple occasions to request that I complete a survey on her performance - and that she needed all 10s. No way would I give her 10s, but I also need her for the next year of my warranty, so I'm not going to rank her honestly and then deal with her attitude for the next year. I simply didn't do the survey. The process is broken. On the upside, Aaron, the site construction manager, is fantastic. He is friendly, responsive, honest, kind, and genuine. I like the house and the community. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Thank you for the feedback. What you've described is not consistent with what we expect from our team members when treating customers. And the last thing we should ever do is to pressure you for a positive survey, especially if we didn't earn it. When you do receive the official company survey, please be candid (as you are now) and provide ways we can improve (like you did on this review). As to the fear that you won't get good service, we'd like to help ease your worries ... would you please email our WA Area Customer Relations Manager, Aimee Munson (aimee.munson@centurycommunities.com) -- she's awesome and an advocate for our customers. We'll make things right. BTW - once you connect w/ Aimee (and know who you are), we will relay your praise to Aaron. ... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: