K. Hovnanian® Homes

star-rating (1479 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes in Sacramento

Read the 71 homeowner reviews of K. Hovnanian® Homes's new homes in the Sacramento area. Sacramento homeowners rated K. Hovnanian® Homes an average 4.1 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes’s reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

4.1 out of 5 stars
in the Sacramento area

star-rating

71 Reviews - 7 Communities

5 ★(45)

4 ★(5)

3 ★(8)

2 ★(5)

1 ★(8)

Quality 4.1

Trustworthiness 4.2

Value 4.2

Responsiveness 3.9

star-rating Quality

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Charles O.
  • Plumas Lake, CA
  • November 19, 2019

Fixtures like towel bars or faucets need to be upgraded to quality not bottom end

star-rating Good but not could be better

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Jagdip S.
  • Sacramento, CA
  • November 12, 2019

- The quality of the workmanship and materials used could have been better. - The house is a little overpriced priced for its locations and materials used in the home. - The walls are not well insulated for noise. - The design and layout of the home could be more modern to appeal to younger families. - Responsiveness to reported issues generally has been good. ... More

star-rating Happy

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Suzanne C.
  • Plumas Lake, CA
  • March 24, 2020

We love our new home! The GE packages are nice to look at, but definitely cheap products. The dishwasher sounds like it’s trying to find it’s way out of the house! It’s super noisy! Stove is ok but the bottom drawer feels like it’s made of tin, super flimsy. Microwave sounds like it needs to be oiled. But they look good, lol. Had to fix a sprinkler pipe and they used pipe not much thicker than a straw. I didn’t know they even made pipe thinner than schedule 40! They build these houses so fast that there is no attention to detail. We replaced the vinyl, stick on, wood looking, flooring with ceramic wood tiles and found BIG pieces of cut, leftover sewer pipe. It was down in the pipe with a pile of toilet paper on top of it. This was when we removed the toilet for the floors to be tiled. Glad we found that before it clogged and backed up! No weed barrier under the bark in the front yards so weeds coming up non stop. Gutters are waves an full of leftover roofing materials and debris. Outlets in the garage aren’t powered enough for our refrigerator. Keeps popping breaker. Although we feel the price was fair, they could definitely do a few things better and have a beautiful product if they wanted to! Company and employees are great to work with but they are defunded a lot of pressure to get things done fast. They’re super busy trying to fix and repair things so they haven’t been able to coordinate a time to fix things for us yet but I trust they’re trying. They say they are, anyway. They have nice employees. We have a lot of little things that need to be attended to. I would recommend this company, just be prepared to replace a few things and be patient. We have great neighbors so far and that’s probably the best thing about moving in! ... More

star-rating Not what I thought

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Plumas Lake, CA
  • January 07, 2020

Where to begin. First, the POC changed during construction without notice. We only found out because we hadn’t heard from anyone for so long we emailed and days later got a response. The few times I had to call to inquire about updates for signing or scheduling, they hired part time who didn’t know and refused to get the info. We closed sooner than expected, however, many issues unseen at the time came to the forefront and when we submitted a “ticket” for service nothing happened. The biggest disappointment was the amount of ants that invaded our home. Scores and scores of them. I had to reseal areas that should have been taken care of during construction such as the kitchen and pantry. I was unable to establish entry to portal designed to support homeowners and no one knew how to resolve the issue. It took a week before i given a possible POC email to resolve the issue, but why would I want to hassle with that again? The foreman was the main saving grace. His kindness and professionalism is the only reason I haven’t been further disappointed. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. Sorry that you have some outstanding issues with your new home. We hope that they will be resolved quickly, but if you continue to have problems please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the appropriate local team reps. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Overall

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Plumas Lake, CA
  • February 14, 2020

I expect more value for the money, the appliances are cheap and malfunctioned after 1 use. We're still waiting for items to be repaired after being in our home a month.

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Nice people to work with.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Glenn S.
  • Roseville, CA
  • October 09, 2019

Nice people to work with. High priced for decent quality. Didn’t love the buying process and definitely wasn’t a fan of the in house loan officer.

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - We like the home but immediately had plumbing issues.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Sean P.
  • Plumas Lake, CA
  • October 16, 2019

We like the home but immediately had plumbing issues. This was not all Khovnanians fault as the city had connected some pipes incorrectly, but I do feel it should have been caught by an inspection ahead of time and not once we had moved in. The city finally fixed the pipes but I am still waiting for KHovnanian to replace my grass. ... More

star-rating Builder quality and price

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Michael R.
  • Plumas Lake, CA
  • January 09, 2020

Craftsmanship and quality from builder do not match price range for what house is worth. I've spent 280k on previous home in Clovis CA and everything about Wilson homes exceeded expectations. Insensitives from Wilson's where amazing and could not be beat. This new home is not worth the price we paid. I don't understand how I spent twice as much on this new home and it does not compete with the house previously purchased. After final walkthrough of home there are still several issues with washer, walls, cracks, glass, lights, and heating. Its very dificult to schedule to get issues fixed do to work schedule. ... More

star-rating Very disappointed in the finishing touches of the house

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Keith B.
  • Plumas Lake, CA
  • August 12, 2020

We are very disappointed with the overall finishing touches of the house. In our walkthrough we noticed the interior of the house had to be almost entirely repainted. You could see the paint roller marks where they tried to touch up the paint. On our final walkthrough we noticed the paint was better but that the paint bled onto the baseboards, windows frames and the ceiling. There was also a lot of paint splatter on the white tiles. We were told the house was going to be cleaned before we moved in but we have had to scrape paint off of the floors in multiple areas and under the cooktop the cabinets have caulking stuck to them. The baseboards around the kitchen island are coming off as well as the trim. It looks like the house was not professionally painted. The door frames on the bottom in the bathrooms are splintered and should not have been installed. We have a work order in for all of these items and have not heard back in multiple weeks regarding an update. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent experience. We are sorry that you are disappointed in the finishing touches, and have sent your comments to the local team for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Cheaped out on a lot of items

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Rancho Murieta, CA
  • August 27, 2020

No spigot in the backyard. How are we to water our plants. Put the recycled water in the center of the walkway so we need to pay someone to fix it. Cheap paint that need to be upgraded, a lot of things offered by other housing developments not offered. People we complain to have to power to do anything their are held by what they say they can and can't do and that is to cheap out and tell the customer they can't do it. Think twice before purchasing a KHov house. People have written to the top and have been ignored. Google to see what I am talking about. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, thank you for providing feedback. We have sent your comments to local representatives for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Great sales team, Few Options, Poor warrantee service

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Rachel S.
  • Roseville, CA
  • October 29, 2019

The sales team were wonderful to work with and were very responsive through the sales process. However, the options offered by K. Hovnanian were far below industry standards. For example: it was extra for the electric garage door opener, it was extra for the man door in the garage, it was an extra for the 220 in the laundry room (we received it only after we demanded to get it put in) and it was extra for ceiling fans. All of the items listed were included as not an extra in our last two new home purchases, and were included in other models we toured. Additionally, we had to find the paint colors and obtain touch up paint as it was not included in our package. That is unheard of! The follow up from the warrantee and construction team is very poor. We have had to paint areas that we pointed out in our punch walk and there is still blue tape on other areas that has never been followed up on since. I am in the Construction industry, and with the exception of your sales force, we have found the design, construction and warrantee teams performance below standard when compared to others. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Rachel, thank you for providing feedback on your recent homebuilding process. We are very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the options offered and the follow up from our homeowner service and construction teams. If you have any other issues or need assistance please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com Thank you! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Not the best home buying experience.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Andrew L.
  • Rancho Murieta, CA
  • August 19, 2020

Sales rep was extremely rude, lots of build quality issues.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the best home buying experience, we have sent your comments to the local team for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Poor construction quality and finishes

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Michelle H.
  • Lincoln, CA
  • July 17, 2020

I closed escrow on my new home 5/26. From the day I got the keys the house was not move-in ready. I trusted the builder to have completed the items needed to be fixed in the home visit new as I had purchased. However, not only were all the items not repaired but new issues arose and now seven weeks in the house I still have blue tape everywhere marking items that have not been resolved. From the cracked/split baseboards, AC upstairs blowing hot air, wood cracked on stairs, ceiling bubble throughout the kitchen to the garage door being hung incorrectly which caused the paint to scrape off to metal on both sides and the stucco outside cracked in several places. I’ve been extremely patient and reached out to over 17 members with the KHOV team Asking for assistance. At this point no one has taken ownership to make it right. I’m extremely disappointed in the build and finishes of the home given the price point. One would expect more from the builder as they pride themselves on quality. I’m ready to take further action if someone doesn’t take ownership and assist with my issues in a timely manner. I look forward to hearing from someone within the company at a leadership level to step in and make this right. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Michelle - sorry to hear that you are having issues getting repairs completed. In an effort to help, I have forwarded your comments over to the local reps for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Untrustworthy Sales Agents

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Winters, CA
  • January 30, 2020

My experience with the K.Hovnanian construction foreman (superintendent, I assume) has been great, and the warranty folks have proven to be reliable, thus far. Both the warranty folks and lead foreman have proven to be courteous, helpful and responsive to home owners. My experience with the office sales agent(s) was good in the beginning but a few weeks prior to closing the trust that had been built was completely shattered - this breakdown of trust sits squarely on sales agents shoulders as it was discovered that a mandatory addendum, solar panel addendum, that should have been presented during the initial signing of the purchase agreement was withheld and then presented a few weeks prior to closing. This issue created a lot of heartache/stress on my end and what should have been one of the happiest experiences of my life turned into a nightmare - lots of sleepless nights, anxiety, anger and sadness; all of it unnecessary and avoidable had the sales agents been honest and upfront. What's worse is no sincere apology or offer to make right what had been wronged was provided. This negative experience ruined my "Golden Key" moment! Picking up the key to my home should have been happy and celebratory, instead it filled me with dread and anxiety because I had to pick up the key from the sales office which meant dealing directly with the sales agent(s) who made the latter half of my home buying experience miserable!! That was especially sad because I will never get that moment back!! ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had some issues with your sales consultant that has created some stress for you during this time. We hope now that you are moved in, you will be able to enjoy your new home. If you do find that you are having continual issues please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Where to begin...

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Marcus C.
  • Plumas Lake, CA
  • October 09, 2019

Saleslady failed to tell us that $17,000 solar panels, through K hovnanian's 3rd party, were not part of the purchase price even though California law mandates all new builds in 2019 to have solar panels. We are from out-of-state and did not know this , Only after negotiations on a purchase price did I discover on our purchase contract that we were mandated to buy solar panels. I brought this to her attention that our price of our home would be going up $17,000 after we agreed upon a price and her response was that she forgot to tell us. Moreover she straight-up lied to us that the two story home behind us had windows on the top floor that we're not bedroom windows but rather vaulted ceiling windows and that she personally talked to the homeowner. Thankfully we had a real estate agent to deal with her on more than one occasion. Also know once they have your money and have given you a one-year fit and finish warranty they fail to show up to fix anything in a timely manner. I waited more than two weeks and three completely missed appointments in which I had to wait around for 8 total hours to finally get a window replaced. I also am still currently waiting two weeks for a leaky sprinkler system to have it fixed after several missed appointments again. There are other cosmetic issues wrong with the home but I'm just going to live with them because my time is more important. If you are going to buy a home with these shysters, make sure you have a real estate agent and you get a home inspector for your walkthroughs to make sure that they are handled before you move in. Otherwise steer clear of K hovnanian. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, and thank you for providing feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with your sales consultant and are having some issues getting your repairs taken care of. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com with details we can pass along to the appropriate personnel in your local area. Thank you! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Greatly Disappointed

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Terri L.
  • Plumas Lake, CA
  • February 04, 2020

Window issues, heating issues, painting issues, custom shutter issues, electrical issues. However I am Confident they will take care of my issues.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Terri - thanks for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you experienced issues with your heating and electrical systems, along with some other items. We are hopeful that things will be resolved to your satisfaction too. Enjoy your new home! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Can’t wait to sell

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Sacramento, CA
  • November 13, 2019

Can’t wait to sell

star-rating Rushed, sloppy work. Rude sales representatives.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Sage G.
  • Lincoln, CA
  • December 03, 2019

Laundry list of issues with the house before we even moved in. Many items still haven't been fixed. Sales reps are great until you give them a deposit. The house was clearly rushed and I am sure we will experience more issues down the road.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Sage - sorry to hear that you are are experiencing issues in your new home. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com with more details we can pass along to the appropriate local reps. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Not happy with the warranty service dept

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Renee G.
  • Winters, CA
  • July 07, 2020

There are several issues with the house that have not been fixed. I am very unhappy in kovanian homes warranty service depot. I feel I got ripped off buy buying this house

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Renee - Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback, sorry to hear that you are not happy with the homeowner service department. We have sent your feedback to local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Disappointing

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • John S.
  • Plumas Lake, CA
  • June 30, 2020

Howard our walkthrough specialist failed to go over most of the items on the checklist. Of course we had no idea bc he never showed us the checklist and had us text message him that he could sign it for us. I had to beg for a copy of what he signed for us and when I finally got it, I realized how much we missed out on. There was a line of ants from the front door to the back slider and it was never addressed prior to closing. Areas marked by Howard still have tape on them and were never painted or addressed. I set up an appointment for the warranty specialist to come and address the items we pointed out during our final walkthrough. Howard assures is these would get addressed. The warranty specialist never showed and did not even bother to call or email is that he wasn’t coming. We wasted an entire day waiting only to get a call weeks later apologizing for the no show and a reschedule. I am requesting a new walkthrough so that I can be familiar with the different systems in the house such as where the sewer clean is among others. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback, we have passed your comments to the appropriate local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Poor

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Jacob F.
  • Lincoln, CA
  • December 03, 2019

Rushed to close. Unfinished home. Played games with the financing and credits. Poor experience all around.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Jacob - thank you for providing feedback. Sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience while building your new home. If you have any other issues and would like to email us at customercare@khov.com I will send to the appropriate local representatives. Thank you! khovnanianhomes ... More