K. Hovnanian® Homes

star-rating (1342 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes

K. Hovnanian® Homes has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.4 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes’s 1342 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.4 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

1342 Reviews - 140 Communities

5 ★(915)

4 ★(204)

3 ★(104)

2 ★(55)

1 ★(64)

Quality 4.3

Trustworthiness 4.5

Value 4.5

Responsiveness 4.4

star-rating Sales agent and contractor were great

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Brian F.
  • Maricopa, AZ
  • January 12, 2021

Allison and Scott were great. Your sales manager and lending team need improvement. They wouldn't even give me my closing costs. Their lender wouldn't match our rate. My payment was $200 more expensive. The bigger builders wouldn't do this. I have a real estate office and team. This makes me never want to do business with K Hov again. I was saving 72k using my lender. They were very rude about it also. Then they were trying to make it as hard as possible for my lender. We didn't have much time to close. Then they were trying to charge me daily if we closed late. I've bought and sold hundreds of new builds. Never seen anything like it. Your lucky to have Scott and Allison. Just to clean up these other things if you want to stop being a small time builder. ... More

star-rating Beautiful Home in Rural Area

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Aabram M.
  • Fredericksburg, VA
  • December 08, 2020

We are blessed to have purchased our new K. Hovnanian (Khov) home despite the obvious risks and challenges associated with the COVID-19 pandemic. There were positive changes made in the home buying process to ensure the safety and well-being of both the seller (Khov team) and the buyer. The overall experience with the sales and mortgage teams was incredible. They were knowledgeable, professional, and responsive, which bolstered our confidence in purchasing a home during a pandemic. Based on our experience, we recommend the involvement and synergy of leadership across all aspects (sales, mortgage, and construction) of home buying be consistent to ensure the same level of quality from a well-known builder with an excellent reputation. ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - While I love my new home, I found communication with the company

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Megan B.
  • Stockton, CA
  • December 02, 2020

While I love my new home, I found communication with the company to be difficult and lacking in the final month of the process.

star-rating Room for improvement

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Stephen S.
  • Phoenix, AZ
  • September 01, 2020

Most of the process was smooth, and they have been responsive regarding the issues found, to a point. I am disappointed in the 10 day warranty they have. There have been several issues found after being in the home for 10 days like poor workmanship on the tile, a chip in the quartz countertop, marks on the tub, etc. When you move into a new home, there are many things going on, and you tend to miss stuff until things settle down. But after 10 days they don't allow you to report certain issues. ... More

star-rating QA needs work.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Alfred B.
  • Woodbridge, VA
  • July 28, 2020

Good experience overall, but somewhat major items were missed such as 2 ceiling fan rough-ins. Getting issues resolved after move in is slow.

star-rating House is nice, but..

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Bryan S.
  • Joliet, IL
  • July 28, 2020

The house is a great house. There are a few minor things that need to be looked at after a month in. The women in sales were great to work with. Financing was a nightmare. We had everything lined up with another financial group but got talked into using Khov for financing. That was a huge mistake. And to top it off they sold our loan to another company in the first two weeks. ... More

star-rating We had few issues.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Dan N.
  • Cedar Grove, NJ
  • July 01, 2020

Even though we did not move to the new home: *our sink has RUST on it and its has to be fixed or changed. They said it will be fixed. I wanted to be documented that if after being fixed the sink still started rusting, IT HAS TO BE CHANGED. *as a result of rain, our basement got wet and had some water. it is very very bad to move to a house which damaged by rain water. *The sump pump was not draining. This problem has been fixed. *The air filter for air condition system was so bad and it was black even though no one used it yet. They put the used and damage one in there!!. This problem has been fixed. ... More

star-rating Love our house/Attention to detail

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Celina, TX
  • June 19, 2020

We love our house, but we are noticing a lot of little things, now that we are living here, that we missed on our walkthroughs. It seems to me a stricter check or verification of work after the house is finished should be in order. Nothing major, just little things you wouldn’t expect to find. Paint thinly applied on walls and cabinets, master bathroom toilet seat was up on both our walkthroughs, but when down reveals chips on the top of the lid, loose screws on kitchen cabinets, guest toilet running constantly, etc. etc. Overall, we are happy. Love the floor plan, and the house. ... More

star-rating Fast build, friendly team. mediocre quality

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Mary A.
  • Richardson, TX
  • April 07, 2020

Process was quick and easy. Craftsmanship was a bit lacking, just messy in some respect. LOVE the area.

star-rating Overall experience

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Oscar R.
  • Lorain, OH
  • January 05, 2021

Steve has been a great help throughout the whole process very responsive. Unfortunately other than that construction managers have been moved around and we eventually had to have Keith involved and now have his direct contact so hopefully things get fixed 7 weeks after gold key presentation. ... More

star-rating Allison our agent she kept us informed the whole time

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Larry B.
  • Maricopa, AZ
  • January 05, 2021

Allison was the best

star-rating Leaking

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Narin I.
  • Irving, TX
  • December 08, 2020

We still have problem with water leaks on the ceiling and some crack. We reported more than a month. Nobody comes to fix yet

star-rating Once the initial "frostyness" about the realtor was addressed the rest of the discussions went quite well. Ms Damaris is certainly a keeper. Grateful for the patience from the closing teamr. Appreciation also to the Title team for acc9m9dstingalso

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • WINIFRED M.
  • Houston, TX
  • December 01, 2020

Explain clearly the pros and cons of using or not using a realtor, and that once the decision to or not use a realtor is made there is no option to change.

star-rating need to be more responsive

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • North Ridgeville, OH
  • April 23, 2020

Before the keys are handed over make sure everything is ready for the homeowner

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Good buying experience with KHOV.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Chris P.
  • Mount Airy, MD
  • December 17, 2020

Good buying experience with KHOV.

star-rating Home insurance

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Merced, CA
  • October 13, 2020

Everyone was great only one thing that's very awful is the super attendance he is very rude to females when their husband isn't there at the home when looking and asking questions about the home bought our home has a broken lock on the downstairs window notified the super attendance Juan to fix it he said he'll come out in a week not to fix it but to drop off the lock at the door and its been almost 2 months and still no sign from Juan nor the lock smh. ... More

star-rating Misrepresentation

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • John G.
  • Winter Garden, FL
  • August 07, 2020

Unlike the models, the driveways in front of the garage are way to short to park a standard car. Disgraceful!

star-rating Rating

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Lawrence P.
  • Casa Grande, AZ
  • March 10, 2020

I had call in to have painters come back a few times to keep touching up and to paint where blue tape was. It was so bad that after 2-3 times I still have blue tape. I asked Anthony for paint so I could do it myself. The house was not done with all the issues the day I got my keys. I still have an issue with the driveway that is not corrected yet. I closed almost 2 months ago. I have a light switch to the kitchen that is not working. Sabrina and Anthony were great but I can’t really say anything else was great. Lights on outside garage should be standard. ... More

star-rating How quick the process took.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Robert F.
  • Glendale, AZ
  • December 15, 2020

People involved with the sale were great.

star-rating Review of KHOV Home Buying Process

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Katy, TX
  • July 08, 2020

The real estate agent Greg was great. Although, we have experienced many calls to Matt to have the contractors fix our floor/countertop/master shower. Matt the construction manager is attentive to our questions and requests. KHOV Mortgage was not the same story. ... More

star-rating Great staff from the sales office to the building crew. ever again.

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Diane B.
  • Yorkville, IL
  • May 26, 2020

Great staff from the sales office to the building crew. I would never finance through Khov ever again. Terrible experience with that side of the business! Submitted paperwork several times; always had to resubmit additional paperwork; staff doesn’t return calls or emails. Was a real pain to work through the financial portion of this transaction. Not worth it to use their financing-and our loan was sold to Chase Bank the day after we closed. ... More

star-rating Overall Experience

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Jose V.
  • Davenport, FL
  • January 28, 2020

In the beginning it was a great expérience but quickly went down hill. I am à Sales Manager in the auto industry for 15 years. Understanding your customer need and wants should. be a priority for Amy one in sales. Wé thought ois realtor really understood what we wanted but as time went on we réaliser that she just dis not listen To us. Wé had infomed Her what was important To us. We trusted her. When the situation was confronted her answer to us was that you should have been aware because you signed the contract. we understand that we signed the contract and we also trusted her into assuring giving us what we asked for. I believe we should have got options to correct the situation and it should have been communication between the design center in the realtor to assure that the customer got what they wanted and if there was any obstacles we could have all worked it out. knowing what I budget was it should have been kept in mind so the customer could have been informed where they stood with the cost but unfortunately that did not happen either so I had to come up with a significant amount of money at closing. The only upside to our experience as we were purchasing the home is Carl the head of construction for our home he was kind he was informative and he was personable he did an outstanding job and to date he is still driving around the community and asking how everything is going it's unfortunate that the real estate agent and Carl you not work together when it comes to selecting the plan of the home. Carl was very thorough when he reviewed the plans with us in the construction with us and always kept us updated every Friday about what needed to be done and what I got completed. Carl get 5 stars. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Jose - thanks for providing feedback on your experience. We are sorry to read that you were not pleased with some things and hope that everything was resolved to your satisfaction. If you have issues in the future and need assistance please feel free to reach out at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the appropriate team members to assist. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Could Have Been Better

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Judith S.
  • Morristown, NJ
  • April 07, 2020

The design and upgrade selection process was very aggravating. The Design Center manager failed to show up at our appointment. This was after a long trip for us and friends who joined us. When we did look at the available items and materials, we were very disappointed with the remaining choices. We contracted with First Choice Electrical for low-voltage wiring of audio/visual and cable. During construction the house was wired incorrectly and had to be rewired. After moving in we found more errors in wiring. It took much complaining and six visits to correct!! I've heard complaints from other homeowners about First Choice. ... More

star-rating Sales/Construction Team Great. Mortgage division POOR.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Northlake, TX
  • January 29, 2020

Sales office at Canyon Falls is great. Tanya and her team are great, detailed oriented and answered all our questions. Even though there were some construction delays and our closing had to be pushed back twice, the construction manager was in constant contact with us and were able to work with us considering we were closing on Christmas eve. Even with a new construction manager Cody coming on board, he was able to answer all our questions and complete our asks. The main issue we had with this whole buying process was with the mortgage division of KHOV. There are way too many people contacting us. We counted at least 8 different KHOV mortgage team members calling and emailing us about different documents they needed, but never passing the baton to the next person or at least informing us that so many people will be contacting us. In today's world of fraud and scams, how are we supposed to know who is legit or not. There should only be one point of contact from the mortgage division. Then the closing and walk through meetings that the mortgage division set up was completely different than what I had agreed to with Cody, so we had to get involved again and sort out their communication issues. Now come time to pay first mortgage payment and there's no proper notification to all parties on the mortgage. Immediately after the first payment, KHOV is selling it off to Wells Fargo, so now we have to setup a whole other payment channel. All this because our old house hasn't sold yet. Do NOT work with KHOV mortgage division. Worst experience ever and still continuing. ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Make sure you understand that when they tell you that you have

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Gerald G.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • January 21, 2020

Make sure you understand that when they tell you that you have x values in upgrades that they are going to add that to your final sale price. Nothing is free.

Narrow Reviews by Area: